Recent News
You are here: Home » Election (page 3)

Category Archives: Election

Public beat police for rescuing detained poll officials at Nabarangpur

Nabarangpur/Bhubaneswar, 14/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar /Abhisek Mohanty ) : The police on Tuesday bore the brunt of the anger of locals of Sambalpur village of Nabarangpur district after they managed to free six detained poll officials from them. As per reports, the irate locals, who had detained the election officials for their alleged involvement in irregularities during the first phase ... Read More »

71 per cent turnout witnessed in phase-1 of panchayat elections; Sonepur registers record 84.3 per cent polling

Bhubaneswar, 13/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : An estimated 71 per cent turnout was witnessed in the first phase of panchayat elections in the State on Monday. According to State Election Commission, Sonepur has registered a record 84.3 per cent polling, while Bolangir witnessed the lowest at 60 per cent. Keeping in view the incidents of poll-related ... Read More »

Miscreants loot ballot box from polling booth in Kendrapara


Kendrapara/Bhubaneswar, 13/02/2017 (Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : Polling was disrupted in Jagdalpur panchayat under Patkura Assembly Constituency in Kendrapara district today as an unidentified group looted ballot box from a polling booth. On being informed about the incident, police rushed to the spot. After a search, the police found the ballot box from a nearby river. However, the ... Read More »

Polling for first phase of panchayat elections begin;incidents of violence reported at many places

Vote 1

Bhubaneswar,13/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : Amid tight security, the first phase of panchayat polls in Odisha began on Monday. The voting is being held in 29 districts of the State. The polling which began at 7am, is taking place to elect 188 zilla parishad members, 1,506 sarpanchs and samiti members and 20, 369 ward members. The ... Read More »

Special security arrangements for sensitive booths

Election Booth

Bhubaneswar , 10/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : To thwart disruptive activities of Maoists during the three-tier panchayat polls, special security arrangements will be made at the sensitive and highly sensitive booths, informed State Election Commission secretary Rabindranath Sahoo. Emphasising that of the total 27, 422 polling booths, 8, 491 booths have been identified as highly sensitive ... Read More »

BJP activist murder case: State Election Commission asks Odisha Govt to order CB probe

Bhubaneswar, 07/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : The State Election Commission on Tuesday asked Odisha Government to conduct a Crime Branch inquiry into the murder of BJP activist Salman Rout. The SEC has also asked the Government to deploy adequate paramilitary forces in Tarabha village of Dhenkanal to prevent pre-poll violence in the area. Byomakesh Biswal, the ... Read More »

Sarpanch candidate went missing in Ganjam district


Bhubaneswar, 04/02/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- A sarpanch candidate went missing in Ganjam district.  A police complaint in this regard has been lodged by the sarpanch candidate Pramod Kumar Pradhan by his family members.Pradhan, who was supposed to campaign for panchyat elections in Ambapua panchayat under Belagunda block of the district, has gone missing since last evening. Read More »

37, 779 candidates won uncontested for three-tier panchayat polls

Vote 1

Bhubaneswar, 28/01/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : As many as 37, 779 candidates have won uncontested for the three-tier panchayat polls. According to State Election Commission (SEC) secretary Rabindranath Sahu, out of the total candidates,36,222 candidates have won uncontested for ward member posts, while 209 for sarpanch and 347 for the post of samiti members. Besides, one ... Read More »

Congress releases poll manifesto, promises empowerment of Panchayati Raj Institutions


Bhubaneswar, 27/01/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) on Friday released its manifesto for the upcoming three-tier panchayat polls. In its manifesto, made public by OPCC president Prasad Harichandan, the party has assured empowerment of Panchayati Raj Institutions and development of rural areas of the State. The party’s manifesto also promises focus on ... Read More »

Congress unveils list of 40 star campaigners

Bhubaneswar, 22/01/2017 ( Odisha Samachar / Abhisek Mohanty )- : Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) on Sunday unveiled its list of star campaigners for the panchayat elections. The list submitted by the party to State Election Commission comprises the names of senior Congress leader late Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra’s younger brother Lalitendu Mohapatra, Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra, Opposition Chief Whip ... Read More »

Scroll To Top
Powered by